The season, day by day

back to calendar

»Gran Partita« on video

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart 1756–1791
Serenade in B Major 361 (370a) Gran Partita

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's Gran Partita is one of his finest wind serenades. Written in his early years in Vienna between Entführung aus dem Serail and the Da Ponte operas, Mozart created another masterpiece of invention and magical sound – it was an immediate success and became a shining example for many 19th century composers.

It is the only serenade he wrote for 2 oboes, clarinets, basset  horns, bassoons, four horns and a double bass. 

1. Largo – Molto allegro
2. Menuetto – Trio I – Trio II
3. Adagio
4. Menuetto (allegretto) – Trio I – Trio II
5. Romance (adagio – allegretto – adagio)
6. Thema (andante) with variations
7. Finale (molto allegro)

This has been filmed for you advanced and can be viewed on this website, YouTube and Facebook from 7.30pm on May 14.

This series of events cost nothing to view but, in case you felt like making a donation ... click here.