The season, day by day

back to calendar

Blühen / Blossoming

Vito Žuraj *1979

Opera in seven scenes
Text  by Händl Klaus based on Thomas Mann's Die Betrogene / The Deceived Woman (1953)
Commissioned by Oper Frankfurt

Performed in German & English with German surtitles

Introductions (in German) 30 minutes before performances begin and available on video here shortly before opening night

A woman falls in love with a man young enough to be her son. She feels born again but just as her self-abandonment reaches its climax, is told that she's terminally ill.

In his novelThe Deceived Woman (1953) Thomas Mann depicted a paradoxical situation wrapped up in an alarming dialectic of life and death. Librettist Händl Klaus and composer Vito Žuraj call their opera in seven scenes Blossoming, intensifying the idea even further, 70 years later, focussing on the protagonist, who they call Aurelia.

Her relationship with her daughter Anna is even more ambivalent, with communication between the two women mirroring her own fears and insecurities. Concentrating on the storyline creates gaps in the libretto which are a real challenge for the composer, giving the characters their own musical expression and distinctive characters and making fate and time audible. 

A chorus adds a special sound to Aurelia's journey, before finally dissolving into her "inner self". The opera traces a tonality that is already inherent in the original story, while searching in a subtle way for new, individual colours. Blühen is the second opera by the Slovenian composer Vito Žuraj, whose accolades include the Berlin Philharmonic’s Claudio Abbado Composition Prize. Ingenious conundrums, his works combine the aesthetic and technology of electronics with classical orchestration – in an individual musical language that is always sensory. He loves composing for the voice. His music has been heard in many leading concert venues and festivals performed by orchestras including the New York Philharmonic, the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Ensemble intercontemporain and RIAS Chamber Chorus; he has enjoyed close ties to the Ensemble Modern for more than ten years.