The season, day by day

back to calendar

9th Sunday & Monday Museumsconcerts

Jean Sibelius (1865–1957) Violin Concerto in d minor op.47

Anton Bruckner (1824–1896) Symphony Nr. 1 in c minor (Linz edition)

Augustin Hadelich violin
Sebastian Weigle conductor

Romannce from Helsinki and Linz

There are many versions of Bruckner symphonies and his first leads a double life too, as a Linz and a Viennese version. The first version of Sibelius's violin concerto no longer exists because Sibelius reworked it after the first performance was such a failure. A good decision because the work then became a world success and one of the most important violin concertos of the 20th century.